Elegance and luxury

What is coconut kefir and what are its health benefits?


The kefir it is a healthy food of the 21st century. Let’s say it’s a probiotic food that houses important bioactive compounds among its composition and includes more than 30 strains of bacteria beneficial in dealing with tumors, harmful microbes or carcinogens.

In particular, kefir is a fermented milk drink produced with ‘starter grains’. It is actually made up of a combination of bacteria and yeast that interact with milk.

Due to its composition, even lactose intolerant people can drink it. Thus, they assure it from the Lactose Intolerant Association of Spain.

Kefir is a drink that can be made with any type of milk, such as sheep, goat, coconut, cow, soy or rice.

Kefir types and benefits

There are many types of kefir that are rich in probiotics and offer different health benefits to the body. Although, many of them are lactose and dairy free, so they are indicated for people intolerant to these types of elements.

Coconut kefir
coconut kefir

Generally, kefir is divided into two large groups. The milk one (cow, sheep, goat or coconut) and the water one (composed of sugar water or coconut water, free of dairy products).

The two types are milk kefir (made from cow, sheep or goat milk, but also coconut milk) and water kefir (made from sugar water or coconut water, which do not contain dairy products).

A key aspect is that the kefir making process does not vary depending on the type of milk or water used. In addition, experts estimate that the benefits of this food are present in its different varieties.

Among the health benefits of consuming kefir, we find the following:

  • Increases the strengthens the immune system.
  • Potentially fights cancer.
  • Improves bone health.
  • Supports proper digestion.
  • Improves against allergies.
  • Power skin care.
  • Improves symptoms of lactose intolerance.

Coconut kefir

Coconut kefir can be made using both coconut milk and coconut water. In this sense, coconut milk comes directly from this fruit and is made by mixing the ‘meat’ of the coconut with water, extracting the pulp to obtain a milky liquid.

On the other hand, coconut water is the transparent liquid that we find inside this fruit naturally and that comes out easily when you open this fruit.

As pointed out by the Lactose Intolerant Association of Spain, both types of kefir are dairy-free. Plus, it contains active yeast and bacteria that mix together to make a traditional starter culture.

In this sense, the coconut kefir once fermented, becomes more sour and also carbonated. Thus, it has a sweeter taste and less flavor than milk.

However, coconut kefir tastes similar to natural kefir and also contains all the properties and benefits of coconut milk; like electrolytes or potassium.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button